Cork and Kerry draw in dramatic finale

Amid dramatic scenes in the semi final of the GAA Football Championship at Croke Park today, Cork converted an emphatic defeat into a draw in the final moments with goals from James Masters and John Hayes.

The final score was Continue reading


New Ireland squad named by Declan Kidney

A 45 man Ireland rugby squad, the first under new manager Declan Kidney, has been named to take part in a pre-season gathering.

The squad includes the players who toured New Zealand and Australia as well as 11 players from the Churchill Cup squad. These include Donncha Ryan and Keith Earls, both of whom will be involved in their first ever Ireland camp.

Gordon D’Arcy, who missed most of the 6-Nations Championship and the remainder of the season after breaking his arm in the clash with Italy, makes a welcome return as do Andrew Trimble and Leo Cullen who both missedteh tour down-under due to injury.

The four day camp takes place in Cork from Tuesday next and will be form part of the player’s pre-season fitness and conditioning plans in conction with their clubs

Former Munster Rugby coach, Declan Kidney said today: ‘The camp is an opportunity for the coaching staff to work with the players and set some foundations ahead of what is going to be an important November for us. We have a new blend of experience in the coaching staff and we felt that this camp would be key to getting the ideas of both the staff and players across ahead of the new season.’

he continued; ‘Once we get into September, it really is a short space of time before we will arrive at our first camp ahead of the November games, so it will be important to our preparation. It is an exciting time and both the coaching staff and myself are looking forward to getting down to business and working with what is a talented squad of players.’

The 45 man squad is as follows:
Neil Best, Rory Best, Isaac Boss, Tommy Bowe, Tony Buckley, Ryan Caldwell, Robert Casey, Tom Court, Leo Cullen, Gordon D’Arcy, Girvan Dempsey, Ian Dowling, Gavin Duffy, Keith Earls, Stephen Ferris, Luke Fitzgerald, Jerry Flannery, John Hayes, Cian Healy, Jamie Heaslip, Marcus Horan, Shane Horgan, Bernard Jackman, Shane Jennings, Robert Kearney, Denis Leamy, Geordan Murphy, Tomas O’Leary, Alan Quinlan, Eoin Reddan, Michael Ross, Donncha Ryan, Jonathan Sexton, Peter Stringer, Donncha O’ Callaghan, Paul O’ Connell, Ronan O’ Gara, Malcolm O’ Kelly, Brian O’Driscoll, Mick O’Driscoll, Andrew Trimble, David Wallace, Paddy Wallace, Roger Wilson, Bryan Young.