Munster Hurling Championship 2010 Cork V Tipperary in First Round

GAA hurlingThe 2010 Munster senior Hurling championship quarter final takes place on Sunday May 30th in Páirc Ui Caoimh. The tie sees traditional rivals Cork & Tipp face eachother for the third time in 3 years. Tipperary are favourites to win, however the player unrest over the past couple of years that is absent this year may be a factor in setting the expectations. This is the first time in a number of years that Cork are entering a championship without internal controversy and as a result are somewhat of an unkown entity.
Continue reading


Denis Walsh named new Cork Hurling manager

Former dual star Denis Walsh has been named manager of Cork‘s senior hurling team.

44 year old Walsh, a member of the St Catherine’s club from Castlelyons in East Cork, holds two Hurling and two Football All-Ireland medals.
He was a double Munster winner in 1990, winning both Hurling and Football medals in the province but saw his name omitted from the Hurling team later in the year to miss out on the previously un-achieved dream of winning two All-Ireland’s medals in the same year.

Walsh managed the Waterford footballers from 2001 to 2003 and has coached successfully with his St. Catherines.

The decision to name Walsh was made by the committee chosen to make the appointment by GAA Central Council. It comprised Denis Coughlan (chairman), Jimmy Barry Murphy and John Fenton.

Walsh will be officially appointed in Cork on Monday 30 March.